LINCOLN — The University of Nebraska-Lincoln has awarded stipends to 154 undergraduates to participate in research with a faculty mentor this summer.

Nebraska’s Undergraduate Creative Activities and Research Experience (UCARE) Program supports undergraduates to work with faculty mentors in research or creative activities. Students receive stipends of $2,400 to engage in intensive research or creative activity for 20 hours per week. The students’ projects span academic disciplines including engineering, chemistry, modern languages and literatures, psychology, art and art history, architecture, special education, and fisheries and wildlife.

The students also will have opportunities to participate in mentoring workshops and activities with undergraduates from other institutions who are participating in Nebraska’s Summer Research Program. In August, both groups of students will present posters on their research and creative activities at a campus research symposium.

Area students receiving stipends include:

Anna Helzer of Aurora, Spanish, “History and Impact of Centennial College at UNL;” Ryan Pawloski of Hastings, sports media and communication, and broadcasting, “Impact of Campus Research;” Rose Wehrman of Kenesaw, English, “Typology of Gaps in the Education System;” and Jonathan Askey of Trumbull, French and biochemistry, “Synthesis of Chiral Phosphonates (Phosphate Mimics) Through Enzymatic Dynamic Reductive Kinetic Resolution.”

Area students named to Doane University dean’s list

CRETE — Doane University has announced its spring semester dean’s list.

Students on the dean’s list have a grade point average of at least 3.7.

Central Nebraska students on the list include:

Kellen Korinek of Cairo; Tate Mazour of Giltner; Brandon Gannon, Myah Keenportz, Ashley Kenyon and Kenzie Kneeland, all of Grand Island; Ryley Dugan of Greeley; Tayma Sebek and Jaime Troester, both of Hampton; Becka Bruntz of Hastings; Tyler Sheldon of Ord; Walker Stuhr of Petersburg; Benjamin Zwiener of Silver Creek; and Paul Sandoz of Taylor.

Area students named to UNO honor lists

OMAHA — The University of Nebraska at Omaha has announced its spring Chancellor’s List and Dean’s List.

Students who qualified for the Chancellor’s List earned a grade point average of 4.0. Those on the Dean’s List earned a GPA of at least 3.5.

Central Nebraska students named to the Chancellor’s List include:

Tyanne Johnson of Albion; Paige Faber, Leta Lohrmeyer and Sarah Maul, all of Aurora; Abby Hargens of Cairo; Kassandra Cornwell of Genoa; Addison Parr and Jake Senff, both of Gibbon; Jamie Bish, Treyten Carey, Bethany Collins and Alejandro Rendon, all of Grand Island; Emily Blunck, Alyssa Spartz and Uyen Tran, all of Hastings; Mc-Kenna Friesen and Ethan Hall, both of Henderson; Daniel Bresnahan of Marquette; Cale Harless of Polk; Sara Baustert of St. Edward; Bailey Pinkelman of Stromsburg; and Kinsley Forbes of Wood River.

Central Nebraska students named to the Dean’s List include:

Claire Schilousky of Albion; Nolan Meyer, Nicholas Miller, Kelsey Sabata and Sharisa Tyma, all of Aurora; Vayle Berger of Callaway; Amy Gathje of Central City; Hannah Hurst and Rebecca Reiners, both of Doniphan; Victor Kosmickigutierrez of Elba; Michael Page of Gibbon; Jarred Anderson, Jesse Arends, Kyra Baker, Alexa Blase, Spencer Boltz, Jaydon Casillas, Kathryn Christensen, Macy Collins, Erick Estevez, Justin Fay, Amanda Fay, Gavin Fox, Dominic Friesen, Natalie Gibbs, Jonathan Hoeser, Haleigh Hoos, Craig Lewandowski, Cailey Mathews, Kadin Romans, Maggie Roudebush, Emily Schutte, Brady Semm, Armando Suarez and Sharilyn Tuttle, all of Grand Island; Nolan Barry, Mara Franssen, Brandon Hemberger, Jaiden Kully, Tammy Nguyen, Claire Redinger, Chandice Rogers and Austin Seamann, all of Hastings; Katelyn Janzen of Henderson; Maria Consbruck of Juniata; Madison Hall and Kyla Stauffer, both of Phillips; Jeremiah Ohlman of Polk; Michaela Glause of St. Libory; Jarod Nekl and Erica Pokorney, both of Shelby; Johanna Glaser and Makenzie Miller, both of Spalding.

Peru State awards degrees to area students

PERU — Peru State College awarded degrees at commencement ceremonies on May 4 in Peru.

Central Nebraska students receiving degrees include:

Hallie Gray of Arcadia, master of science in education, curriculum and instruction; Abby Schoch of Clarks, master of science in education, curriculum and instruction; Jabe Wurtz of Clarks, bachelor of science, social science teaching, summa cum laude; Nanette Reiman of Hastings, master of science in education, curriculum and instruction; Journie Woodward of Ord, bachelor of science, psychology, honors program graduate; summa cum laude; and Dustin Lawless of Ravenna, bachelor of science, business administration — management.

Area students on Kansas State honors list

MANHATTAN, Kan. — Kansas State University in Manhattan, Kan., has has released its spring honors list.

Students must earn a grade point average of at least 3.75 to receive this honor.

Central Nebraska students on the list include:

Rachel Kort of Ayr, Jordan Davis of Gibbon, Payton Best and Carissa Jonak of Grand Island and Annissa Davis of Hastings.

Concordia University names area students to honors list

SEWARD — Concordia University in Seward has released its honors list for the spring semester.

The top 25 percent of all full-time undergraduate students qualify for the honors list.

Central Nebraska students on the list include:

Kordell Hamer of Central City; Emma Smith of Ericson; Elizabeth Bergdolt, Kamryn Horner, Abigail Huggins, McKenna Kaskie, Audrey Quandt and Grant Suchanek, all of Grand Island; Lindee Schultz and Christopher Warneke, both of Hasting; Malena Goldstein of Kenesaw; Tori Beran and Delani Fahey, both of Ord; Miranda Rathjen of Osceola; Keri Bauer of Pleasanton; Emily Niemeier and Sarah Niemeier, both of St. Libory; Madalynn Fousek of St. Paul; Sabra Moore of Shelby; Madison Baker of Stromsburg; and Gabrielle Luehr and Samantha Luehr, both of Wood River.


Kristin Mahony of Ericson, Samantha Hays of Osceola and Logan Fleming of Polk were named to the spring dean’s list at Mount Marty College in Yankton, S.D., for earning a grade point average of at least 3.5.


LaNae Maxson of Burwell and Ryan Grafel of Hastings graduated from Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa, in May with doctor of veterinary medicine degrees. Grafel graduated cum laude.

Sign up for Email Alerts

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.
Load comments